Singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord.

praise

“Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, in all wisdom teaching and exhorting yourselves in psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord.” Colossians 3.16
.
“The heavens declare the glory of God,
And the firmament shows His handiwork,
Day unto day utters speech,
Night unto night reveals knowledge.” Psalm 19.1, 2

,

And David and all the house of Israel were celebrating before the Lord, with songs and lyres and harps and tambourines and castanets and cymbals. 2 Samuel 6:5 (ESV)

But now bring me a musician.” And when the musician played, the hand of the Lord came upon him. 2 Kings 3:15 (ESV)

when the morning stars sang together, and all the sons of God shouted for joy? Job 38:7 (ESV)

But let all who take refuge in you rejoice; let them ever sing for joy, and spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may exult in you. Psalm 5:11 (ESV)

I will be glad and exult in you; I will sing praise to your name, O Most High. Psalm 9:2 (ESV)

Sing to him a new song; play skillfully on the strings, with loud shouts.Psalm 33:3 (ESV)

Deliver me from bloodguiltiness, O God, O God of my salvation, and my tongue will sing aloud of your righteousness.Psalm 51:14 (ESV)

But I will sing of your strength;I will sing aloud of your steadfast love in the morning.For you have been to me a fortress and a refuge in the day of my distress. Psalm 59:16 (ESV)

My lips will shout for joy,when I sing praises to you;my soul also, which you have redeemed.Psalm 71:12 (ESV)

Oh come, let us sing to the Lord; let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation!Psalm 95:1 (ESV)

Oh give thanks to the Lord; call upon his name; make known his deeds among the peoples! Sing to him, sing praises to him; tell of all his wondrous works!Psalm 105:1-2 (ESV)

And when they [Jesus and the disciples] had sung a hymn, they went out to the Mount of Olives.Matthew 26:30 (ESV)

About midnight Paul and Silas were praying and singing hymns to God, and the prisoners were listening to them,Acts 16:25 (ESV)

and in order that the Gentiles might glorify God for his mercy. As it is written,“Therefore I will praise you among the Gentiles, and sing to your name.”Romans 15:9 (ESV)

What am I to do? I will pray with my spirit, but I will pray with my mind also; I will sing praise with my spirit, but I will sing with my mind also.1 Corinthians 14:15 (ESV)

Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God.Colossians 3:16 (ESV)

addressing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody to the Lord with your heart,Ephesians 5:19 (ESV)

saying,“I will tell of your name to my brothers;in the midst of the congregation I will sing your praise.”Hebrews 2:12 (ESV)

Is anyone among you suffering? Let him pray. Is anyone cheerful? Let him sing praise.James 5:13 (ESV)

 27 Verses About Thankfulness

Seeing as how Thanksgiving is on the 27th this year and just a few days away, I thought I’d compile a list of 27 Bible verses about thankfulness. Obviously, there are a lot more out there! But these are some of my favorites, in no particular order, and why I picked each one.

 

Make thankfulness your sacrifice to God, and keep the vows you made to the Most High… ~Psalm 50:14 (ESV)

 

 

reminds me that God desires the thankfulness of my heart as a sacrifice that pleases him.

 

 

“The one who offers thanksgiving as his sacrifice glorifies me;
to one who orders his way rightly I will show the salvation of God!” ~Psalm 50:23 (ESV)

 

 

thankfulness not only honors God, it prepares my heart to see His ways

 

 

And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful. ~Colossians 3:15 (ESV)

 

 

thankfulness keeps me humble and makes the way for peace with my family in Christ

 

 

…give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. ~1 Thessalonians 5:18 (ESV)

 

 

being thankful is being obedient to God’s will for me

 

 

Therefore let us be grateful for receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, and thus let us offer to God acceptable worship, with reverence and awe… ~Hebrews 12:28 (ESV)

 

 

thankfulness naturally overflows into worship, and is a natural result of remembering my salvation

 

 

You have turned for me my mourning into dancing;
you have loosed my sackcloth
and clothed me with gladness,
that my glory may sing your praise and not be silent.
O Lord my God, I will give thanks to you forever! ~Psalm 30:11-12 (ESV)

 

 

thankfulness can be found in remembering what the LORD has done for my soul, and God deserves thanks for this forever.

 

 

Oh give thanks to the Lord, for he is good,
for his steadfast love endures forever! ~Psalm 107:1 (ESV)

 

 

I always have a reason to thank the Lord: for His own character. Even when life circumstances are bad, my God is good. That is reason enough to be thankful.

 

 

Enter his gates with thanksgiving,
and his courts with praise!
Give thanks to him; bless his name! ~Psalm 100:4 (ESV)

 

 

thankfulness is a good preparation for worship, and for meeting with the church family I have

 

 

Let there be no filthiness nor foolish talk nor crude joking, which are out of place, but instead let there be thanksgiving. ~Ephesians 5:4 (ESV)

 

 

My speech is not be characterized by crudeness, but instead, thankfulness to God. Interesting that those are portrayed as opposites.

 

 

It is good to give thanks to the Lord,
to sing praises to your name, O Most High;
to declare your steadfast love in the morning,
and your faithfulness by night… ~Psalm 92:1-2 (ESV)

 

 

thankfulness should be, according to these verses, what opens and closes my day, not just on Thanksgiving day!

 

 

I give you thanks, O Lord, with my whole heart;
before the gods I sing your praise; ~Psalm 138:1 (ESV)

 

 

According to my study bible, “gods” is most likely used to ridicule pagan kings and leaders at the time the psalmist wrote this. Today, I equate that to powerful people on earth, whether politician or cultural leaders, who do not know God. This reminds me to be thankful and praise the LORD despite what the rest of the surrounding culture is doing.

 

 

Then one of them, when he saw that he was healed, turned back, praising God with a loud voice; and he fell on his face at Jesus’ feet, giving him thanks. Now he was a Samaritan. Then Jesus answered, “Were not ten cleansed? Where are the nine? Was no one found to return and give praise to God except this foreigner?” And he said to him, “Rise and go your way; your faith has made you well.” ~Luke 17:15-19 (ESV)

 

 

giving glory to God, worship, and thankfulness to Jesus are all closely linked here, reminding me that this is the same in my life.

 

 

the other nine men who were healed did not give God thanks, but went along with their lives, while the outsider (Samaritan) paused and appropriately thanked God. Thankfulness is not an automatic inclination of my heart but must be a conscious decision/habit.

 

 

Jesus gave the true healing–healing of the soul–to the man who was thankful.

 

 

May you be strengthened with all power, according to his glorious might, for all endurance and patience with joy, giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in light. ~Colossians 1:11 (ESV)

 

 

Thankfulness doesn’t overflow from my heart naturally, but from God enabling me, strengthening me with his glorious power and joy.

 

 

We ought always to give thanks to God for you, brothers, as is right, because your faith is growing abundantly, and the love of every one of you for each other is increasing. ~2 Thessalonians 1:2 (ESV)

 

 

I am to be consciously thankful for seeing others grow in their faith and love

 

 

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. ~Philippians 4:6-7 (ESV)

 

 

Reminds me to humbly submit my requests to God but also to be thankful in my circumstances, whatever they are, and thankful for the peace only God can give.

 

 

And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. ~Colossians 3:17 (ESV)

 

 

thankfulness should be a part of everything I do and should always represent the Lord

 

 

Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change. ~James 1:17 (ESV)

 

 

everything good in this world is a gift from God, and recognizing who gave it will automatically overflow into thanksgiving to Him

 

 

You are my God, and I will give thanks to you; you are my God; I will extol you. Oh give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; for his steadfast love endures forever! ~Psalm 118:28-29 (ESV)

 

 

another verse on thanking God for who He is, not who I am or what physical possessions I have.

 

 

Oh give thanks to the Lord; call upon his name; make known his deeds among the peoples! Psalm 105:1

 

 

I never really saw this verse before. Thanksgiving→ call upon the Lord→ share the good news with the whole world. Sounds like the Great Commission to me!

 

 

First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all people… ~1 Timothy 2:1 (ESV)

 

 

Indicates every person who crosses our path is to be lifted up in prayer with thankfulness to the Lord for them

 

 

Therefore, as you received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk in him, rooted and built up in him and established in the faith, just as you were taught, abounding in thanksgiving. ~Colossians 2:6-7 (ESV)

 

 

Maturity in Christ is characterized by abounding in thanksgiving

 

 

I will give to the Lord the thanks due to his righteousness, and I will sing praise to the name of the Lord, the Most High. ~Psalm 7:17 (ESV)

 

 

Another verse on being thankful for who God is, namely his righteousness.

 

 

…giving thanks always and for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ… ~Ephesians 5:20 (ESV)

 

 

We are to always give thanks to God the Father in everything

 

 

Thanks be to God for his inexpressible gift! ~2 Corinthians 9:15 (ESV)

 

 

as much as I study the Gospel, I will never be able to fully express it or fully express my thanks to God for what He has done and is doing and will do!

 

 

Continue steadfastly in prayer, being watchful in it with thanksgiving. ~Colossians 4:2 (ESV)

 

 

Thankfulness is not always purely emotional, this verse indicates a steady, wary watchfulness over my heart when I make thankfulness and prayer a habit.

 

 

For although they knew God, they did not honor him as God or give thanks to him, but they became futile in their thinking, and their foolish hearts were darkened. ~Romans 1:21 (ESV)

 

 

Lack of thankfulness darkens my heart and interestingly is one of the main kickboards into Paul’s list of sins that man commits against God in Romans 1.

 

 

“And now we thank you, our God, and praise your glorious name. But who am I, and what is my people, that we should be able thus to offer willingly? For all things come from you, and of your own have we give you.” ~1 Chronicles 29:13 (ESV)

 

 

I love this passage as David dedicates the building materials for the Temple. For it reminds me of my own life– everything I own that I think I offer to God belongs to Him and was a gift from Him already.

 

About thenonconformer

I am a Canadian, retired and I do have an Engineering degree, from Concordia University , Montreal 1968, plus I had also now worked as a Re/Max Realtor in Calgary too.
This entry was posted in Christian, Christian Life, Christian Music, Christianity, Relgious Christianaty and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

